Children's · Fantasy

Where the Mountain Meets the Moon – Grace Lin | A Review

wherethemountainmeetsthemoon

I stumbled upon this book when I visited the library recently. After reading the synopsis, I liked the sound of it and checked it out. Within a week, I finished it, because not only did I enjoy the writing style, but I had to find out what happened to Minli (the main character)! πŸ™‚ I figured she would succeed, and even though this is a novel for children, I couldn’t see what was coming a good majority of the time (which is always nice lol; if you know what’s going to happen, why finish a book?).

If you like fantasy, adventure, and learning about different cultures and their backgrounds, I highly recommend this book.

Alright, now on to the review! πŸ˜€

characters:

A young girl named Minli;

Her parents, Ma and Ba;

A traveling goldfish salesman;

And, of course, the Old Man of the Moon.

plot:

Minli lives with her mother and father in a poor town, cut out of a valley shadowed by Fruitless Mountain – a mountain that is well-known for its tough soil. She works from sun-up to sundown, harvesting rice so that she and her family will have enough food to survive. One day, she asks her father, Ba, if there’s a way she can bring fortune to their home, so that her family can be happy and have plenty to eat. He tells her that that is something she must ask the Old Man of the Moon. Where the Mountain Meets the Moon is the tale of her journey to find the man who would be able to answer her question. Along the way, she makes new friends and learns a lot about herself – something that wouldn’t have happened had she stayed in the shadow of Fruitless Mountain.

-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~

What I Liked:

  • The overall whimsical mood. This is the first book I’ve read by Grace Lin, and I really enjoyed her style of writing; the similes she used to liken many different things to the moon and night sky were wonderful.
  • Minli’s character. By the first chapter, I liked her, which made the rest of the book all the more enjoyable. πŸ™‚
  • Getting to read about Chinese fantasy and folklore has been different and interesting, as this was the first book I’ve ever read on the subject. I must say that I loved this novel as a whole; the mood, the characters, the setting, the mission…I was hooked until the end.

Check this book out:

Amazon

Goodreads

Author’s Website

Leave a Reply

