Every Little Thing About You ~ Lori Wick | A Review

everylittlethingaboutyouThis Christian western novel is the first in The Yellow Rose Trilogy. I would recommend reading all three in order and not starting the third novel first like I did, because that was a huge spoiler! I quit reading City Girl and picked up books one and two from the library. (Read my review of the second book in the trilogy here!)

Don’t ruin the nice surprises of this trilogy and the love stories of the three Rawlings brothers; read them in order, and you just might fall as hard for them as I am. 🙂

characters:

  • Slater Rawlings
  • Liberty Drake
  • Griffin Drake
  • Dakota Rawlings
  • Duffy and Kate Peterson
  • Zach and Laura Peterson
  • Tess Locken

plot:

Quitting his job as Texas Ranger, Slater Rawlings heads back home. He plans to pass through the town of Shotgun, but, instead, finds himself detained by a woman in the strangest of ways. Before he knows what’s happening, she’s leading him across town, holding a gun against his back…

-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~

What I Liked:

  • The western feel. This is the first novel I’ve read that’s in this genre, and I had no idea if I would like it, but, as it turns out, I did! I’m looking forward to finishing the trilogy.
  • The sincere kindness of the Peterson family. At different times while reading, I laughed to myself as I pitifully thought, Wouldn’t it be nice if we could all have such a sweet, caring, wonderful family like the Petersons in our lives?
  • Libby’s skill with a gun. Dang, girl.
  • Wick’s way of writing. I’ll probably repeat this multiple times, but without shame. I like a lot of dialogue, and she includes a whole boatload of it in her writing.

Favorite Parts:

  • When Dakota (Slater’s older brother) is trying to be Slater’s matchmaker. I was laughing out loud when Slater said sympathetically, “Don’t you have anything else to do?” even though it made his brother angry.
  • When Slater suddenly realized how deeply in love he was with Libby. It made his body weak, he was so emotional. I started crying, and I’m not one to cry when reading books.

Do I Recommend It?

Do you…

  • love Christian fiction/romance? Yes!! I’d recommend most of Lori Wick’s novels 🙂
  • love western novels? Yes, just know that God is one of the main focuses.
  • love historical fiction? Yes, although even though it was based in late 19th-century Texas, that’s all that’s historical about it. The characters, town, and events are completely fictional.

-~- Maggie


Check this book out:

Amazon

Goodreads

One thought on “Every Little Thing About You ~ Lori Wick | A Review

Leave a Reply

