Hamlet – William Shakespeare | A Review

hamletWhen I started this blog, I decided that I’d only review books that I’ve just read, or re-read, so that the story will be fresh in my mind. However, Hamlet is my definite favorite work of Shakespeare, and I’ve studied and researched it, as well as owning multiple copies of it, so I shall review it now. 😀

characters:

  • Prince Hamlet of Denmark
  • Horatio
  • King Claudius
  • Queen Gertrude
  • The Ghost
  • Ophelia
  • Polonius
  • Laertes
  • Rosencrantz
  • Guildenstern
  • Fortinbras

plot:

(from Hamlet’s POV) – I can’t believe my father is dead. And what’s crazy is that my friends are saying they’ve seen him! (*24 hours later*) REVENGE!!!! No, Ophelia, I don’t love you! Mom, you’re an awful person for getting into bed so quickly with my uncle! Rosencrantz and Guildenstern, I don’t trust you guys anymore! Now, about that revenge…

-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~

favorite quote:

Hamlet | Farewell, dear mother.

Claudius | Thy loving father, Hamlet.

Hamlet | My mother. Father and mother is man and wife, man and wife in one flesh, and so, my mother.

— 4.3.52-55

hamlets

What I Liked:

All of it, obviously. Oh, the specifics? Alright…

  • Hamlet getting the players to preform ‘The Murder of Gonzago’ to stir Claudius’ guilty conscience. It’s brilliant.
  • Hamlet’s performance of craziness. Throughout the play, the reader goes back and forth between thinking, He’s not actually mad, then to,  Well, he couldn’t have done that if he wasn’t crazy… (i.e. the incident with Polonius, Hamlet’s rejection of Ophelia)
  • How witty Hamlet himself is. I love his sense of humor.
  • The mood of the play. It’s a tragedy, but is somehow still so funny!!

What I Didn’t Like:

Note: As I already mentioned, I absolutely love this play, so I don’t feel strongly about what I’m saying I ‘didn’t like,’ although I probably would’ve enjoyed the story even more had these aspects of it not been included. 🙂

  • Ophelia’s part in the play. I wish more of her relationship with Hamlet had been discussed. You don’t know much about her before she goes crazy.
  • Yorrick’s skull. If that itty-bitty scene hadn’t been added, it wouldn’t be the focus of 90% of Hamlet book covers. I wish that book cover artists had chosen a different aspect of the play to illustrate…such as fencing swords, or a bottle of poison, or a pond…
  • Rosencrantz and Guildenstern’s tragic end. For Hamlet’s sake. On Horatio’s account. I’m not sure why I was so devastated about it. I know that it was necessary, but I came to like those silly men. lol

Do I Recommend It?

Do you…

  • love Shakespeare? YES! This really is his best work.
  • love reading plays? Yes! Good gracious, Hamlet is such a good one.
  • love witty humor? Yes, if you also like how plays are written.

Are you…

  • interested in starting to read Shakespeare, or other plays? Yes!! Although I must warn you, it’s one of the longest plays ever written. Still not very long, but not your average-length play, either.

-~- Maggie

Read in January 2016


Check this book out:

Amazon

Goodreads

Sparknotes

4 thoughts on “Hamlet – William Shakespeare | A Review

  1. I love Hamlet its my favorite Shakespeare story. My friend and I have backpacks that say Polonius and Rosencrantz on them! Its interesting how relevant his work is so many years later 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

